Get Your Free Score

Texas DPA - city programs - local rules

City down-payment assistance is local. Your plan should be too.

State programs are only part of the picture. Some Texas cities offer their own down-payment or closing-cost help, usually with city-limit, income, education, inspection, and occupancy rules.

No SSNNo credit pullLender share optional
Illustration of moving from renting toward owning a home

Readiness report checks

  • Houston, Austin, Dallas, Fort Worth, and San Antonio each set their own local rules.
  • Eligibility can turn on city limits, income, education, inspections, and occupancy periods.
  • Funding and limits change often, so these pages need recurring refresh checks.

Why city DPA matters

The same buyer can qualify differently by city.

City DPA programs are not interchangeable. A home inside city limits may unlock a local path that does not apply one street outside the boundary.

Houston, Austin, Dallas, Fort Worth, and San Antonio each set their own local rules.
Eligibility can turn on city limits, income, education, inspections, and occupancy periods.
Funding and limits change often, so these pages need recurring refresh checks.
01

Houston

Houston is not accepting or processing additional Homebuyer Assistance Program applications because available funds are exhausted, and applications that have not received pre-approval are on hold, as checked October 28, 2026. The city HAP page (https://www.houstontx.gov/housing/hap.html) still publishes up to $75,000 for income-qualified first-time buyers whose home pays City of Houston taxes. Recheck that page and the Homebuyer Hub before treating that amount as available.

02

Austin and Dallas

Austin points income-eligible first-time buyers to up to $40,000 in assistance, as checked October 28, 2026. Dallas no longer directly administers DHAP. Effective May 1, 2026, BCL of Texas manages intake, which requires a readiness check, a DHAP-approved lender, and an executed purchase contract. BCL says submitting intake does not guarantee funding. Recheck the city DHAP page and bcloftexas.org/dhap before you apply.

03

Fort Worth and San Antonio

Fort Worth highlights up to $25,000 for eligible first-time buyers, as checked October 28, 2026. Its HAP guidelines tie the amount to how long you live in the home as your principal residence: up to $25,000 with a 10-year commitment, or up to $14,999 with a 5-year commitment. As of the October 28, 2026 check, the City of San Antonio HIP page no longer shows the FY 2026 pause notice and does not state current application status. That page (https://www.sa.gov/Directory/Departments/NHSD/Housing-Support/Homeowner-Support/HIP) lists HIP 80 as a 0% interest, no-payment second loan of $1,000–$30,000 and HIP 120 as a 0% interest, no-payment second loan of $1,000–$15,000. Confirm with the City of San Antonio Neighborhood & Housing Services (311 or 210-207-6000) or a participating lender before counting on HIP funds.

Local eligibility

City DPA usually asks five questions first.

Exact rules change, but the same readiness inputs come up again and again. First Home AI helps you gather them before you chase a program.

Eligibility set by program rulesReadiness checked byfirsthome.ai

Is the home inside the city boundary?

Many city programs require the property to be inside city limits or to pay city taxes. ZIP code alone is not enough.

Does your household fit the income band?

Most local programs are income-limited. Household size and Area Median Income rules matter.

Have you completed homebuyer education?

City and state programs often require a HUD-approved or program-approved class before closing.

Can the home pass program review?

Inspection, environmental review, property standards, and sales-price caps can all affect whether assistance can be used.

Can you stay through the affordability period?

Many city programs use forgivable loans or liens. Selling, moving, or refinancing too soon may trigger repayment.

Common questions

Clear answers for AI search and real buyers.

These answers are intentionally short, citable, and backed by the source list below.

Are city DPA programs different from TSAHC or TDHCA?

Yes. TSAHC and TDHCA are statewide paths, while city programs usually apply only inside a city boundary and can have different income, education, inspection, and occupancy rules.

Can I combine city DPA with a state program?

Sometimes, but stacking assistance depends on the specific city, lender, loan type, and current program rules. A lender or program administrator must confirm the final answer.

Why does First Home AI ask for my county and target area?

Location affects DPA, income limits, taxes, insurance, and price caps. A readiness score is more useful when it is tied to the place you want to buy.

Will First Home AI update city program details?

Yes. This page is refreshed against official city sources. As of October 28, 2026, Houston is not accepting or processing additional HAP applications because available funds are exhausted, and applications that have not received pre-approval are on hold. The San Antonio HIP page no longer shows the FY 2026 pause notice and does not state current application status. That page (https://www.sa.gov/Directory/Departments/NHSD/Housing-Support/Homeowner-Support/HIP) lists HIP 80 at $1,000–$30,000 and HIP 120 at $1,000–$15,000 as 0% interest, no-payment second loans. Confirm with Neighborhood & Housing Services (311 or 210-207-6000) or a participating lender before counting on HIP funds. Dallas DHAP is managed by BCL of Texas rather than the city. Recheck those sources before you apply.

Ready in 3 minutes

Check local help before you write off buying.

Your readiness report shows whether DPA should be part of the next conversation, and what could block it.

No SSNNo credit pullLender share optional